Krijn de Jong

Krijn de Jong, Professor at Utrecht University has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Francois Gault Lectureship
Krijn de Jong

We are pleased to announce that Professor Krijn de Jong of Utrecht University is the recipient of the 2017 EFCATS François Gault Lectureship administered by the European Federation of Catalysis Societies. The Award will be presented at Europacat XIII (Florence, Italy, August 2017). This Award recognizes individual groundbreaking contributions to catalysis.

Krijn de Jong is being specifically recognized for his original approach to establish synthesis-structure-performance relationships in the field of heterogeneous catalysis. Synthesis of supported metal catalysts has been pursued by unraveling the scientific principles to control both metal particle size and metal particle distribution over model supports and industrially relevant supports. Structure has been studied amongst others by pioneering electron tomography and most recently liquid-phase Transmission Electron Microscopy for imaging the genesis of porous materials and supported catalysts. Performance studies have focused on conversion of synthesis gas to fuels and chemicals and bifunctional catalysis of hydroconversion of alkanes. Nanoscale effects revealed by De Jong and co-workers involve amongst others (i) metal particle size and metal particle distribution effects on activity, selectivity and stability in synthesis gas conversion and (ii) metal-acid intimacy control and impact in bifunctional catalysis of hydrocarbons.


The François Gault Lectureship Award is given every two years to a distinguished scientist in the field of heterogeneous catalysis. De Jong will present several plenary lectures across Europe between the two biennial EUROPACAT meetings held in Florence in August 2017 and in Aachen in September 2019.

The François Gault Lectureship has previously been awarded to Sir John Meurig Thomas (UK), Gerhard Ertl (Germany), Henrik Topsøe (Denmark), Avelino Corma (Spain), Michel Che (France), Graham Hutchings (UK), Robbie Burch (UK), Rutger van Santen (Netherlands), Enrique Iglesia (USA), Johannes Lercher (Germany), and Joachim Sauer (Germany).


back to previous page