Johannes Lercher

Francois-Gault-Lectureship 2013 awarded to Johannes Lercher
Johannes Lercher

Professor Johannes Lercher has been named the recipient of the 2013 Francois Gault Lectureship Award, Europe's highest honor in catalysis. Lercher is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the Technische Universität München in Munich, Germany and Director of Pacific Northwest National Laboratory's Institute for Integrated Catalysis, USA. The award is given in recognition of his ground-breaking contributions to the understanding of the interactions and transformations of molecules on solid catalysts through elegant combinations of physicochemical and kinetic analyses. His work includes research on catalyzed reactions involving fossil fuels and alternative feedstocks such as biomass.

The award is bestowed by EFCATS, European Federation of Catalysis Societies from 25 European countries.

The François Gault Lectureship Award is given every two years to a distinguished scientist in the field of heterogeneous catalysis. Lercher will present several plenary lectures across Europe between the two biennial EUROPACAT meetings held in Lyon in September 2013 and in Kazan in September 2015.

The François Gault Lectureship has previously been awarded to Sir John Meurig Thomas (UK), Gerhard Ertl (Germany), Henrik Topsøe (Denmark), Avelino Corma (Spain), Michel Che (France), Graham Hutchings (UK), Robbie Burch (UK), Rutger van Santen (Netherlands) and Enrique Iglesia (USA).

back to previous page